The Who — Face Dances (1981)

So, 25 years later, I decided to revisit The Who‘s 1981 album, Face Dances, and found it better than I remembered it. I found that I appreciate different aspects of Townshend‘s writing now than I did as a freshman in high school. And upon realizing that, these two thoughts hit my brain at roughly the same time:

One: I remembered thinking that ol’ Pete sounded more like a geezer than he actually does on this record.

Two: I am older now than the lot of them were when they recorded this! Older than they were when I saw them slapped down by the Clash in Oakland on the first of their many hello/goodbye tours.

When. The. Hell. Did. That. Happen?

Leave a Reply

