My Life, 10 Years From Now

In 10 years, I’ll be hard charging my 54th birthday. If the next 10 years are anything like the last 10, there is one thing I know for sure: I don’t know anything.

If you would have told me when I was turning 34 that, by my next decade, I will have started a band, put out a CD, written a novel, crash landed my career in graphic design to get a teaching credential, and actually taught high school for two years; I would have called you mad, mental, out of your freaking mind. Well.

I’m sure Esquire magazine says that I should be spending my mid-50s getting ready to retire by working on my golf game, buying a Chrysler Sebring, and downsizing the family home to a easy-to-maintain condo. I’m pretty sure that none of that is going to happen.

I hope to have my health. I hope to have my facilities (such as they are). I hope my wife and extended family enjoys the same. Beyond that, the world can do what it wants. I’ll try to do my best and lead by example, but won’t be bummed (or overly surprised) when it all goes to hell anyway. Let’s hope the year 2020 brings us all the gift of insight so we can better learn how to live with each other on this world. Right?

Kum ba friggin’ yah.

One thought on “My Life, 10 Years From Now

  1. This says it all as to why I hate those “What do you see yourself doing in 5 (or 10) years?” questions. My first thought is always “Well, I hope I’m alive.” Good job, man.

Leave a Reply

